9 March 2022: IFA South Africa Webinar Series
Tax Avoidance and Tax Treaties: Application and Interpretation of the OECD's Principal Purpose Test

IFA 2022 Berlin

Annual IFA Congress - Berlin (Germany)

April 2023
David R. Tillinghast Conference (Cape Town)

IFA 2023 Cancun
Annual IFA Congress - Cancun (Mexico)

IFA 2024 Cape Town
Annual IFA Congress - Cape Town (South Africa)

IFA 2025 Lisbon
Annual IFA Congress - Lisbon (Portugal)

IFA 2026 Melbourne
Annual IFA Congress - Melbourne (Australia)

IFA 2027 Stockholm
Annual IFA Congress - Stockholm (Sweden)


The Young IFA Network (YIN) is a member group within the International Fiscal Association (IFA) of which IFA South Africa represents the South African branch.

To attract more members in the early stages of their careers, IFA in 2005 adopted the Young IFA Network (YIN) initiative, aimed at attracting an increasing amount of younger tax professionals to its ranks, which members are committed to developing and proposing ideas and implement programmes, both at the Branch level and worldwide, to make IFA still more attractive to young members.

The YIN Committee will:

  • facilitate communication among younger members;

  • initiate and support and social activities and programmes aimed primarily (but not exclusively) at younger members;

  • identify opportunities for (and possible barriers to) increased participation of young members in IFA.

  • work towards providing local and global discussion forums for young tax professionals throughout the world.

IFA’s Branches have been requested to take part in this initiative at the Branch level. Some of the YIN ideas have already been realised by several Branches, and further ideas will be implemented in the forthcoming IFA annual Congresses.

The YIN grouping for the South African branch targets members under the age of 40 years.  The aim of the YIN grouping is to attract new young members to the branch and provide a forum for them to interact both on a technical as well as a social level.

While YIN South Africa members are full members of IFA South Africa, additional events will be organised for this grouping.

YIN South Africa has been established in April 2015 and is led by Albertus Marais